My Backlash

The best story and the greatest poetry,

Never make it to the pages you read.

The acts of love that fall on your lips,

Every word, every verse skips pages for me.

Every midnight I wake up to the beat,

And see you snuggle in my dream peacefully.

O Lord! Let me live here, in this moment,

Where all my wrinkled and tattered thoughts,

skip away to the demon and I’m left with her.

I look into the mirror and not see a sane body,

But reflection of a beast tamed by your innocence.

My years will someday befall to immortality,

And flowers will grow upon my heart and soul.

Someday my prospect will become your past,

That day I’ll look back and read my story again.

Leave a Reply

