A story of a cup and some thoughts. my first short story.

The Warp

It was cold winter evening, a time when the best thing to do was to sip hot coffee and devour yourself in the warmth of the people near you. Unless you are a lone wolf , when the only warmth you can get is off the cup you holding and sole breath of yourself. Though on my part I was surrounded by people, enough to jostle up the air and still when I swallowed the coffee it didn’t feel as it was supposed to.  Was it cold?? No. Visible amount of steam was floating up and it felt as if that petite amount of hot air was trying to do its best in staying back inside the cup as I was trying to unite with whatever the sound reached my ears. I was sitting covered with my quilt and with all my worldly pleasure being lost at that very moment and yet the mind was flying somewhere with its own pair of wings. Momentary glitches of laugh, talks and noises did brought back my eyes to the figure on the cup which stared back at me with the same dept of blankness as I did. And then the slight pokes of excitement on my hand that did remind me I was not a avid participant in the ongoing culture of laughs and gags. When their heavy breath landed under my chin, i realized it was my time to extend the lips and instead my hand did a faster journey with the cup to reach my mouth and I hid my reluctance to laugh inside the cup. Eerie voices of my current dilemma echoed inside me and  a battle was raged with my thoughts to reach a point out of the paradox . I closed my eyes periodically to emphasize on the slim amount of dizzy I was getting, though feeling sleepy at that moment of time, in that ecstatic environment is that least pathetic way one can lie to avoid the situation. But that was barely the grim option I was left with to hide the only thing that can ruin the atmosphere. Behind those closed lids, I was crossing my version of the universe to get to a point where many lines followed by big question marks would change to a simple statement with much simpler full stop after them. Sometimes it feels so desperate that you can command the situation around you and then you realize in doing so, you will end up directing all the arrows of doubts towards yourself. Perhaps in my case, not only doubts but figures of concern will hit me as people I am surrounded by plays annealing role in my life. So asking them to stay quite or permission to evade the room was not a very sane action for me. Henceforth I relied on the wings of my mind to take me away to the place where all the hands of the clock would stop working.  Even the senses that were responsible to obliterate the cold around with affection of disturbance surrounding me were flying to find those full stops.  Thats the reason I was missing the very reason I was holding the cup. Maybe I shouldn’t have been there on the first place.

Leave a Reply

